SYMMETRY
PaycheckCity
PAYROLL POINT
Symmetry PAYROLL Forms
Payroll Taxes
Payroll Talk
Payroll Goddess
Premiere Payroll Tax Research Library

Wisconsin State Tax Information


Looking for Wisconsin state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.

 

Wisconsin Department of Revenue

Withholding Requirements:

The amount employers must withhold may be determined by using one of Wisconsin's two alternate percentage methods of withholding, Method A or Method B, or the wage-bracket tables. 

Military spouse exemption: Income for services performed in Wisconsin by a nonresident s[pouse of a service member is not taxable to Wisconsin if the spouse is in Wisconsin solely to be with the service members serving in Wisconsin under military orders.  Military spouses claiming military exemption should complete and submit Form W-221. 

Local Taxes:

NONE

State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):

Unemployment Tax Rates for experience employers are determined with Schedule D

Wage base is $14,000  for 2019

Tax rates for new construction with taxable payroll of less than $500,000 is 3.75% for 2019

Tax rates for new construction with taxable payroll of least $500,000 is 3.9% for 2019

New experienced employers use 2.70% for 2019

Out-of-state construction company use 8.50% for 2019

State Disability Insurance (SDI)

None

State labor laws

Minimum wage: at least $7.25 an hour.  

Employers must pay student learners at least 75% of the minimum wage.

Employers must pay non-opportunity tipped employees a cash wage of $2.33 an hour; opportunity tipped employees must be paid a cash wage of $2.13 an hour.

Termination Pay: Employers must pay wages to discharged employees or to employees that quit on the next regular payday or in 31 days, whichever is earlier.

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/104.pdf

New Hire Reporting

Employers must report specific information on new hires to the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development or its authorized agent.

Newly hired employees include employees who are rehired, recalled, or return to work after an unpaid absence of more than 90 days. Employers also must report employees who are rehired or return to work 60 days after layoff, furlough, unpaid leave, or separation or termination from employment.

https://dwd.wisconsin.gov/uinh/

Remit withholding for child support to

Wisconsin Support Collections Trust Fund

P.O. Box 74400

Milwaukee, Wis.  53274

https://dcf.wisconsin.gov/bcs/default.htm

Reciprocal States

Wisconsin has reciprocal withholding agreements with Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky and Michigan.

 

Payroll-Taxes.com is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Wisconsin state tax, articles, federal tax information and state tax information.


 
TAX TIDBIT... To correctly calculate withholding near wage base limits, enter your Gross Salary Year-to-date. It's important for an accurate calculation and is usually found on your last pay stub.