Symmetry PAYROLL Forms
Payroll Taxes
Payroll Talk
Payroll Goddess
Premiere Payroll Tax Research Library

Mississippi State Tax Information

Looking for Mississippi state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.


Mississippi State Tax Commission

Department of Employment Security


Withholding Requirements:

  • Register federal employer identification number for state withholding by filing Form 70-001 (Registration Application). A copy can be obtained here. To file online click here.
  • Mississippi Employee's Withholding Exemption Certificate - Form 89-350
  • Withholding Method = formula
  • Supplemental Rate = If no tax withheld from regular wages, add to regular wages for current or preceding payroll period and withhold on total. If tax withheld from regular wages, add to regular wages, compute tax on total, and subtract tax withheld on regular wages.

Local Taxes:


State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):

Benefit wage ratio formula

Wage base is $14,000 for 2019
Rates range from 0.2% to 5.6% for 2019
Rates include 0.20% for 2019 workforce training enhancement tax per H.B. 108.
In 2019, new employers use 1.2% for 1st year liability, 1.3% for 2nd year and 1.4% for 3rd year.

Effective for 2019, the rate of the surtax for the workforce enhancement training fund is 0.20%.

State Disability Insurance (SDI):


State Labor Laws:

Minimum wage - The federal minimum wage rate applies

Termination Pay - no provision.

New Hire Reporting:

Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 15 days to on Form MDHS-DCSE-6700.
Send to:
Mississippi State Directory of New Hires
PO Box 900008
Raleigh, NC 27675-9008
Phone: 800-241-1330
Fax: 800-937-8668

Report Online

Remit withholding for child support to:

PO Box 4301
Jackson, MS 39296

To report online click here

Reciprocal States:



For paycheck calculation visit the Mississippi Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity. is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Mississippi state tax, articles,federal tax information and state tax information.

TAX TIDBIT... To correctly calculate withholding near wage base limits, enter your Gross Salary Year-to-date. It's important for an accurate calculation and is usually found on your last pay stub.