Symmetry PAYROLL Forms
Payroll Taxes
Payroll Talk
Payroll Goddess
Premiere Payroll Tax Research Library

Florida State Tax Information

Looking for Florida state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.

Florida Department of Revenue
Florida Agency for Workforce Administration

Withholding Requirements:

  • Register as employer by filing Form DR-1 (Application to Collect and/or Report Tax in Florida). To apply online click here
  • No Withholding Tax
  • Withholding Method = none
  • Supplemental Rate = none

Local Taxes:


State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):

Report quarterly wages and contributions by filing Form UCT-6 (Employer's Quarterly Tax Report) and Form UCT-6 (Employer's Quarterly Tax Report) by last day of month following end of quarter: To file online click here

Wage base is $7,000 for 2018

Rates range from 0.10% to 5.40% in 2018
Participants in the short-time compensation program are subject to rate 1% above the maximum.
New employers use 2.7% for 2018.
There is a special assessment tax for 2015. Contact DEO for more information.
Benefit ratio formula

State Disability Insurance (SDI):


State Labor Laws:

Minimum wage - $8.25 per hour on 1/1/2018.

Termination Pay - no provision.

New Hire Reporting:

Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return reporting to work within 20 days of the first day of work on form W-4 (or equivalent) to:
Florida New Hire Reporting Center
P.O. Box 6500
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6500
(888) 854-4791

(888) 854-4762 (fax)

To report online click here

Remit withholding for child support to:

State Disbursement Unit
P.O. Box 8500
Tallahassee, FL 32314-8500

To report online click here

Reciprocal states:


For a Florida paycheck calculation visit the Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity. is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Florida state tax, articles, federal tax information and state tax information.

TAX TIDBIT... To correctly calculate withholding near wage base limits, enter your Gross Salary Year-to-date. It's important for an accurate calculation and is usually found on your last pay stub.