Utah State Tax Information
Looking for Utah state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.
- Register as employer by filing Form 1 (Status Report)
- Employee's Withholding Allowance Certificate: Federal W-4
- Withholding Method = formula
- Supplemental Rate = Add to regular wages, compute tax on total, and subtract tax withheld on regular wages.
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):
Wage base is $30,300 for $30,800 for 2014 and $31,300 for 2015
Contribution rates range from 0.4% to 7.4% for 2014 and 0.4% to 7.3% for 2015
New employers are assigned a rate based on their respective industry. New out-of-state contractors are assigned the maximum tax rate (7.3%) allowable under state law.
State Disability Insurance (SDI):
State Labor Laws:
Fired - 24 hours. Quit - next regular payday.
New Hire Reporting:
Electronic reporting is strongly recommended.
Utah New Hire Registry
PO Box 45247
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0247
To report online by clicking here
Remit Withholding for Child Support to:
ORS Child Support Services
PO Box 45011
Salt Lake City, UT 84145-0011
To report online click here
Payroll-Taxes.com is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Utah state tax, articles, federal tax information and state tax information.