Rhode Island State Tax Information
Looking for Rhode Island state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.
- Register as employer by filing Form BAR (Business Application Registration)
- Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate: RI-W4
- Withholding Method = formula
- Supplemental Rate = Withhold at 5.99%
State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):
Reserve ratio formula
Contribution rate Schedule I
State has a 2-Tier wage base. Most employers will use $22,000 for 2016 and $23,900 for 2017. Employers in the highest tax group have a wage base of $23,500 for 2016 and $23,900 for 2017.
Contribution Rates range from 1.69% to 9.79%
New employers use 2.27% for 2016 and 1.83% for 2017
Rates do not include Job Development Assessment of .21%
State Disability Insurance (SDI):
Wage base $66,300 for 2016 and $68,100 for 2017
Withholding rate is 1.20% for 2016 and 2017
State Labor Laws:
Minimum wage - $9.60 effective 1/1/16
Termination Pay - Fired/Quit - next regular payday.
New Hire Reporting:
Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 14 days on Form W-4 (or equivalent), Internet or paper list to:
Rhode Island New Hire Reporting Directory
PO Box 335
Holbrook, MA 02343
Remit Withholding for Child Support to:
Bureau of Family Support
Department of Human Services
77 Dorance Street
Providence, RI 02903
For more information click here
Payroll-Taxes.com is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Rhode Island state tax, articles, federal tax information and state tax information.