Symmetry PAYROLL Forms
Payroll Taxes
Payroll Talk
Payroll Goddess
Premiere Payroll Tax Research Library

Connecticut State Tax Information

Looking for Connecticut state tax information? We provide the latest resources on state tax, unemployment, income tax and more.

Connecticut Department of Revenue Services

Connecticut Department of Labor

Withholding Requirements:

  • Register as employer by filing Form UC-1A (Employer Status Report) to register online click here
  • Employee Withholding Allowance Certificate: CT-W4
  • Withholding Method = formula
  • Supplemental Rate = Add to annualized regular wages, compute tax on total, and subtract tax withheld from regular wages.

Local Taxes:


State Unemployment Insurance (SUI):

Report quarterly wages and contributions by filing Form UC-5A (Employee Quarterly Earnings Report) and Form UC-2 (Employer Contribution Return) by last day of month following end of quarter: To file online click here

Wage base is $15,000 for 2016 and 2015
Rates range from 1.90% to 6.80% including fund solvency tax of 1.4%. for 2014 and 2015.
New employers use 4.8% for 2014 and 4.9% for 2015.
Benefit ratio formula

State Disability Insurance (SDI):


State Labor Laws:

Minimum Wage - $8.70 per hour effective 1/1/14 and $9.15 as of 1/1/15
Termination Pay - Fired - next business day. Quit - next regular payday.

New Hire Reporting:

Employers must report hiring, rehiring, and return to work within 20 days on Form CT-W4 (Employee's Withholding or Exemption Certificate) to:

Connecticut Department of Labor
Office of Research, ATTN; CT-W4
200 Folly Brook Boulevard
Wethersfield, CT 06109


800-816-1108 fax (in state only)

To report online click here

Remit Withholding for Child Support to:

CT Centralized Child Support Processing Centerbr
PO Box 990032
Hartford, CT 06119-0032

To report online click here

Reciprocal States:


For paycheck calculation visit the Connecticut Paycheck Calculator of PaycheckCity. is a free online resource featuring a compilation of research, collaboration and web tools for use by payroll professionals and more including information about Connecticut state tax, articles, federal tax information and state tax information.

TAX TIDBIT... To correctly calculate withholding near wage base limits, enter your Gross Salary Year-to-date. It's important for an accurate calculation and is usually found on your last pay stub.